Deleting

Users delete information daily. Before you support deleting in your app, think about the type of information users might delete and how important it is. If users delete something accidentally, they might want to retrieve it, but prompting users to confirm every deletion can slow them down.

You can apply most of the information about deleting to the actions of removing and resetting.

  • Deleting: Deleting an item from the BlackBerry device
  • Removing: Removing an item but not deleting it from the device (for example, deleting a song from a playlist)
  • Resetting: Returning values to a predefined state and losing all changes

Use the criteria below to determine how you should support deleting information in your app:

Critical content

Users might lose valuable data that affects how the device functions.

Examples:

Resetting the device or an app.

Removing an email account.

Device showing an example of a toast that appears when users delete a picture.

Confirmation type

Show a dialog box that describes the outcome of the deletion and requires users to confirm that they understand the consequences before the deletion occurs.

Important content

Users might lose valuable application data or content in an application.

Examples:

Deleting an email.

Deleting a contact.

Deleting a playlist.

Confirmation type

Show an intrusive toast that lets users undelete. The toast should disappear within 3 seconds of the user interacting with the screen. Toasts with buttons must be used to undo deletions only.

Example of undo toast.

Unimportant content

Users might reproduce the content easily.

Examples:

Removing a song from a playlist.

Removing an alarm setting.

Removing a tag from a photo.

Confirmation type

Don't ask users to confirm deletion.

Implementation of the delete function

Users can delete or remove items in the following ways. Choose the way that works best for your app.

  • In a context menu, users can touch and hold an item or use the multi-select gesture to open the context menu. Place the Delete action at the bottom of the menu.
  • In an action bar, users can open the action menu. Place the Delete action at the bottom of the menu. You can use this approach when users are in a content view (such as reading an email, looking at a photo, or viewing the details for a contact).
  • Users tap an Edit button to act on a lot of data at one time.

Place a reset action on a Settings screen. Don't use a context menu or action bar.

Best practices

Don't place a Delete action in an action bar. Use an action menu instead to minimize the risk of users deleting an item accidentally. Since the action menu button appears at the bottom right of the screen and the Delete action appears at the bottom of the action menu, users can double-tap to delete an item.

If users delete an item from a list or grid, remove the item from the screen using a delete animation.

If users delete an item from a content view (like an email or contact), remove it from the screen using a delete animation and return users to the previous screen.

comments powered by Disqus